Mediterranean Studies Association

21st Annual International Congress

Sorrento, Italy Sant'Anna Institute 

May 30- June 2, 2018

View: 2018 Final Program

Read: 2018 Abstracts


Take advantage of online credit card payments here for:


2018 Conference Registration

Walking Tour

Amalfi Post Tour

Annual Membership





Read the 2018 Second Call For Papers.

See the list of Hotels &  B&Bs.

About the MSA The Mediterranean Studies Association is an interdisciplinary organization which promotes the scholarly study of the Mediterranean region in all aspects and disciplines. It is particularly concerned with the ideas and ideals of  Mediterranean cultures from  antiquity to the present and their influence beyond these geographical and temporal boundaries. 

The Association was incorporated in 1994 after several years of informal existence and is a publicly-supported organization exempt from federal income tax under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

Membership is open to anyone interested in the scholarly study of the Mediterranean. Memberships are due and payable at the start of each calendar year. Your payment entitles you  to participate in our annual international Congress. Payments are non-refundable.

Register and pay online via the Register button above or go to our membership page to download a paper form you may complete and mail.


President of the Congress 2017: Cristiana Panicco, President, Sant'Anna Institute 


Executive Director: Benjamin F. Taggie: University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Associate Director, Treasurer & Congress Coordinator: Louise Taggie, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth 

Assistant Director: Vaios Vaiopoulos, Ionian University , Corfu,Greece

Chair Congress Program Committee and Program Coordinator: John Watkins, University of Minnesota

Susan O. Shapiro, Editor, Mediterranean Studies, Utah State University

Mediterranean Studies Association, Box 79351, North Dartmouth, MA 02747  

Phone: 508-979-8687